Lamenting my lost love

kaboompics.com_Girl reading old book.jpg
Photo credit: Kaboompics

I miss reading. I miss setting aside an hour, or two or three, to fall in love with a good book and explore another world for a while. Nowadays my reading quota seems to be taken up with internet browsing, reading random crap that pops up on my Facebook feed and blindly staring at lecture notes I can’t quite seem to decipher. I mean, technically, it’s still reading, but it’s not quite the same.

So when I recently stumbled across Flash Fiction I realised I could finally have my cake and have time to eat it too! For anyone, like me, who hasn’t heard of Flash Fiction before they’re basically super short stories that pack a serious punch.

From the 100 word drabble to the lengthier 500 – 1000 word short, every micro tale gives you a chance to escape into another world for a brief part of the day. Taking just a few minutes to read, they can be devoured on the bus journey to work placements, squeezed in between lectures or read just before your head hits the pillow.

Amazon are currently offering two collections of flash fiction for FREE on the kindle, so if, like me, you miss reading because life no longer seems to allow you the free time, give them a go. I’ve committed to try and fit in just one story a day. I started last night before bed and surprised myself by reading, not one, but three! If you’d like to try them out for yourself the two collections are available right here:

3 thoughts on “Lamenting my lost love

  1. Hey there. I noticed a follow from you on my second blog with the discussion questions. I didn’t see a way of contacting you privately but I wanted to let you know I’ve been removing followers because I’m not doing my work online to be “followed” solely, but I’m doing it to get discussion and participation.

    Sorry the world has changed so much that many behave in such an unsocial way online but that’s what I have to accept. Too much has happened to corrupt my life and abilities and the stress of empty stat numbers is just making that worse. (Not to mention the people stalking me to get more people for themselves out of my contact lists on various social network sites.)

    Take care.

    Like

    1. Hi,
      The main reason most people chose to follow people on WordPress is so your new posts appear in their newsfeed, which should encourage people to join in discussions on your blog and participate with your posts, like you want them to. On WordPress I don’t find it’s the same popularity contest like on Twitter or Instagram, where people seem to “follow” you so you follow them back and then the next day they unfollow you. Without follows on WordPress people need to save you in their bookmarks and remember to check your page every few days or so and this can get easily forgotten. Obviously if you choose to remove followers that is totally up to you but I think you will find that it will result in less discussion and participation on your posts. tara. Xx

      Like

      1. Well, I’ve been doing this for over two years and having followers never really resulted in participation to my blog even when I subscribed and chatted on theirs. (The only people that happened with were people I’d already spoken to privately.)

        Everyone has loads of bookmarks. If they go back to them to remember to get discussion done on old blog posts that’s news to me. Usually I just get people lurking behind phone screens since that’s their only access to the internet.

        Most of what I’ve seen is people following everything I do on every site I do it so they can be appraised if there are new goodies… and the new goodies often show that I’m going stark-raving mad because I have hundreds of podcast listeners and readers who refuse to do anything but like-click, even on wordpress. Thanks for responding! That’s rare. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

