261mc: Documentary: Fundamental Ethics

Recently in class we discussed ethics, integrity and using our own personal, moral, compass when it comes to working with members of the public.

I always want to ensure that I am protecting my documentary subject and in no way taking advantage of their open-ness.

While working on Sarah’s story I have had to question my own ethics and decide if certain information should remain in my documentary’s final cut or should be removed to limit any damage caused to those referred to.

Sarah reveals during the documentary that she was abused as a child but then goes on to name her abuser and members of her family she felt were negligent.  I am not sure what good revealing these names in the documentary would do, other than to cause possible problems for Sarah and her family, so I am choosing to edit them out of the final film.

 

Leave a Reply

