261mc: Documentary influences

Today we talked about what films and documentaries we personally watch and how they influence our own work.

Last term one of our tutors recommended I watch

Montage of Heck (2015) by Brett Morgan

I loved the use of animation for reconstruction/flashback sequences. I would love to find an artist to work with to help me illustrate Sarah’s early life on screen but with time constraints I think it is an idea I need to save for a later project.

Stefan Nadelman’s computer animations of Kurt Cobain’s life are truly beautiful and really helped to link the audience to him in a way I never imagined animated images could.

mon

mont

monta

The animation of Kurt’s notebooks, in particular, really made the Nirvana frontman’s thoughts come to life and filled them with the passion and angst he was famous for.

Leave a Reply

